Protein Power Pancakes

Β This breakfast/brunch recipe is literally my absolute favourite weekend treat. During the working week, I’m generally out the door before 6am, driving to the gym and then to work. This means breakfast needs to be something I can either ‘meal prep’ easily or make easily after the gym, which is usually a breakfast Nutribullet smoothie or a tupperware of zoats with a protein shake. Don’t get me wrong, I love having either of those to fuel me up for a busy day. But there’s something special about having that extra bit of time to both sleep AND make an indulgent breakfast on your mornings off.

It took me a while to find the perfect recipe for these pancakes, and I played around with it using Instagram recipes by my favourite bloggers until I finally decided on my own! They are SUCH a brilliant pre or post workout feed – I love making them after a long run or after a legs session in the gym.

Like most of my recipes, I have my little quirks for my version of these, but I would love you to find your own and I’ve included suggestions for this below.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 40-50g quick cook oats (I used Flavahan’s Progress Oatlets)
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (I used My Protein Whey/Whey Isolate)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tsp cacao powder
  • Liquid: I add 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • Optional: As always, I generally add cinnamon, ginger & turmeric – 1/2 tsp each. If you use green powders like spirulina or matcha, definitely try those too.
  • Optional: Spinach! I often add a handful of spinach to the mix because I love getting a sneaky serving of greens and micronutrients into every meal.
  • Toppings: As always, have fun with this and pick your favourites! Toppings I recommend would be nut butters, seeds, berries, dark chocolate, greek yoghurt, chopped nuts, and avocado! (Yes, avocado. It really should go with everything in my opinion…).

Method:

  1. Mash your banana and crack the egg into the mash, and mix well.
  2. Add the baking powder, oats and cacao/spices and mix up until coated.
  3. Add the protein powder to the mix and stir it all up again.
  4. Add your little bit of liquid – you may need to play around with this, 1/4 cup is the amount I’ve found works for me!
  5. Transfer the mix to a Nutribullet or whichever blender you use. Note – you can skip the blender part and start cooking at this stage, but I definitely recommend using a blender as you get a smooth batter and more pancakes!
  6. If you’re adding spinach, add it to the Nutribullet cup at this stage.
  7. Blend up until smooth!
  8. Time to cook – place 1 tbsp coconut oil on a non-stick pan and switch onto medium heat,
  9. Spoon out about 2 tbsps of your batter at a time onto the pan for one pancake – I usually cook 2 small pancakes at a time but this depends on the size of your pan.
  10. When little bubbles start to appear on the surface of your pancake puddles, flip them over. Usually each side takes about 1 minute to cook for me!
  11. When all your batter is now pancakes, its time to make your ‘stack’! (Or at least, it is if you’re someone who likes to photograph all of their tasty meals – like me!)
  12. Stack the pancakes on top of each other and get your toppings sorted (see below).
  13. Tuck. In. And bask in your pancake food coma of happiness.

Pre-Toppings:

Post-Toppings:

Toppings Recommendations:

  • Berries: Usually I heat a little bowl of blueberries for about 30 seconds in the microwave, which makes the berries burst and then you can literally drizzle them all over the pancakes.
  • Nut Butters: Either get a big old tablespoon (if you have self-control, which I don’t with nut butter) of your favourite type and lash it on top of the stack, or you could also be crafty and layer your pancakes with a light spread of the nut butter in between each one.
  • Avocado: I like to make an avocado mash & spread it between the layers of pancakes.
  • Yoghurt: Also ideal for layering between your pancakes! I recommend Glenisk Natural Flavour Protein Yoghurt – super creamy and great for spreading!
  • Seeds/Nuts: Crush ’em up and sprinkle on top!
  • Chocolate: This doesn’t need much explanation. Add it, and it will melt – sorted.

Give it a try and let me know how it goes! There are so many versions of protein pancakes out there, so I really wanted to have my own go-to for this delicious breakfast. Practice makes perfect, so the more you make these the better they are each time. As if you needed another excuse to try them!

Enjoy guys!

Ciara x

Leave a Reply

