Green Monster Spinach Zoats

I know what you’re all thinking. Two things – hasn’t she posted a Zoats recipe already? And why does it need to be even greener? Bear with me people!.So this week was a new start for me, for many reasons. I kicked off with a brand new rotation in a new hospital (one I’ve worked at before) as an S.H.O. (Senior House Officer) in the specialty of Emergency Medicine, which to be honest I was absolutely terrified for. Especially since I kicked off with a week of 4 night shifts. I finished my first week yesterday morning a little less terrified, with a body clock all over the place, and a lot of excitement for a couple of days of rest before I switch back to day shifts next week. I have a LOT to learn over the next 3 months in A&E and I’m excited, scared and motivated for that.

My second change this week was that as I changed hospitals, I changed gyms too. So now I’m back to a gym I’ve been a member of before, and leaving Ben Dunne Gym behind (though I’m sad to do so!). I LOVE the spin classes at this particular gym, so I can’t wait to get back into doing regular spinning and working on that cardio challenge this month.

SO. Rambling on as I always do…I’ll get to the point. This past week my eating was obviously totally erratic – dinner before work started at midnight, an 8 hour shift throughout the night without food, a gym session after work and a post-workout breakfast before a daytime sleep. And repeat. So I was basically a meal and probably snacks down this week most days. When I got home after my second night, I decided I wanted to make sure I was packing enough nutrients into my day. I was battling a little cold at the same time too and I always find my nutrition and sleep is KEY when I’m a bit under the weather.

I decided to add a little extra veg to my zoats to pack more greens in, and to do this I’ve created this recipe. Essentially it involves cooking your oats in a spinach type smoothie, and I love it! Call me weird if you want – but try it first!

Recipe – see notes below

 

  • You don’t have to make this as a zoats bowl, you can just use it to make spinach oats if you want!
  • For this recipe, follow the basic zoats recipe I’ve already posted, but see the instructions below first for how to change it up for a spinach twist!

Ingredients

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup of water/milk of choice
  • 50g oats
  • 1/3 courgette, grated
  • Spices: Cacao, Cinnamon, Turmeric, Ginger (these are what I use but make it your own!)
  • 1 scoop of protein powder of choice
  • Toppings: Your choice! Nut butter, seeds, nuts, banana, berries, chocolate, take your pick!

(This one does look like the Incredible Hulk created it, I’ll agree – blame cacao!)

Method

  1. The main difference with this recipe is that before you start cooking your zoats, you need to create your spinach smoothie! Grab your blender, the spinach, liquid and spices.
  2. Chuck those ingredients into your blender cup (I use a Nutribullet) and blend at high speed for 1 minute or until fully liquidized.
  3. Place your oats and grated courgettes into a bowl.
  4. Pour the spinach smoothie on top of the zoats mix, and using a spoon stir through well until fully soaked. Depending on the size of your blender cup you may have too much liquid – if so, use about a cup of that liquid to cook your zoats. You can sip on the rest!
  5. Using a microwave, cook the zoats for about 2 minutes, or until there is still about a quarter of the liquid left.
  6. Add this stage add your protein powder and mix well. If its dry, add a little more liquid.
  7. Microwave again for another 1 minute, or until it reaches your desired consistency!
  8. Toppings time – you guys know what to do! I love adding my toppings and then microwaving for another 30 seconds to 1 minute, so that the berries heat and burst, and the nut butter melts!

Enjoy guys! Let me know what you think of this recipe, I know its seeeriously green but hey, nothing wrong with that in my opinion!

Ciara 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

