The Buddha Bowl

Ah, the Buddha Bowl. A general term for one of my favourite go-to meals when I’m home late from work with either little time to prepare dinner, or even less willpower to do so! You guys know those days! That’s when I turn to the Buddha Bowl as a healthy, flexible and wholesome option for dinner (or lunch of course!).

Disclaimer (for the craic): Obviously I did not invent the Buddha Bowl. However, I would consider myself to be a massive fan and I’ve made quite a lot of them! So this post is really about me sharing my favourite versions and ingredient combinations for this dish, which hopefully you’ll enjoy!

So what is a Buddha Bowl I hear you ask. Fair question. A Buddha Bowl is, broadly speaking (I swear I didn’t Google a definition for you guys…lol), a hearty, nourishing meal that is usually made up of various greens, raw or roasted veggies, beans and a complex carbohydrate (usually a grain like quinoa, or brown rice, but I love using sweet potato). As you can tell by the description, it literally ticks all the boxes in terms of macronutrients and micronutrients, and it’s very quick to whip together. So, I am going to share my personal favourite version of a Buddha Bowl with you, and I encourage you to try it, change it, develop it and personalise it to your taste! That’s the beauty of this feast! As you’ll see, I usually include some extra protein in my bowl, usually fish or chicken – that’s my personal preference.

Recipe (My Version!):

Ingredients

  • 1 fillet of smoked salmon, ready to eatΒ (I get mine from Lidl!)
  • 1/2 courgette, spiralised
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 3 tbsp cooked chickpeas
  • 1/4 avocado, sliced
  • 1/3 cup broccoli florets
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • Note: These ingredients are my own favourite combination, but there are endless variations and themes you can come up with! For example, using seasonal vegetables (e.g. roasted root veggies in winter), or using fish or tofu if you’re having a meat-free day. I also love to give the meal a Mexican theme from time to time – I’ve got a picture of this below!

Method

 

  • Note: The method for a Buddha Bowl really is as easy as ABC. Essentially your steps involve preparation of ingredients where required, assembly of the ingredients, and then lastly the addition of any spices or dressing you want to add. I find it easiest to multi-task my preparation and assembly where possible.

  1. Prepare what you need to – e.g. chopping/spiralizing veggies, roasting sweet potato or other vegetables. If using sweet potato, and you’re short on time, I definitely recommend cooking it in the microwave in smaller chunks!
  2. While ingredients are cooking, assemble what you can in the bowl – e.g. base of spinach/other leafy greens, courgetti.
  3. When all your ingredients are prepped/cooked, you’re all set to create a big old bowl of NOM. Basically, keep adding your ingredients to your base until you’re done! Usually what I do is put my meat/protein component in the centre, and add everything around it (see myΒ pictures for what I mean!)
  4. If you want to add a dressing or spice your bowl up, what I usually do is drizzle the dressing over my Buddha Bowl when its ready, that way when you mix it all together everything will be evenly coated.

 

Below: Salmon & Butternut Squash Noodles Buddha Bowl:

Below: Mexican-Themed Buddha Bowl

(I cooked chicken, peppers and onion with cumin and smoky paprika!)

Enjoy guys, I can’t wait to see what you all come up with! Tag meΒ in your photos on Instagram if you try a version out!

Ciara πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

