Coconut & Cacao Walnut Butter

walnut-butter-close

Nut butter. One of the most addictive foods in my life. One I literally eat everyday, and NEVER get tired of. I love all types of nut butters – peanut, almond, CASHEW, and also seed butters like pumpkin seed, and tahini. They are one of my favourite sources of healthy fats, and I adore adding a spoonful to my zoats in the morning, or simply having nut butter on a slice of rye toast, or rice cakes. Yep, I’m definitely addicted. And I’m talking about REAL nut butters – where the ingredients literally are ‘almonds’, or ‘roasted peanuts.’ My favourite brands have to be Meridian Foods and Pip and Nut, no doubt about it. My favourite nut butter is definitely cashew butter. I could eat a whole jar of that stuff in one go. YUM.

My ONLY issue with nut butters is that they can be really expensive to buy. Natural peanut butters are very reasonably priced in fairness, but once you start getting more exotic with varieties like almond or cashew butter, I find its often a bit of a rip-off price for the volume you get. I’m calling it like it is. So, in my 2017 ‘Cook from Scratch’ mindset, I decided to try and make my own nut butter – and happily, it was a serious success! Its a win-win situation guys – buying the ingredients is cheaper than a jar of a lot of the branded versions, and by making your own you definitely get a larger volume too! With the exception of the cacao powder, all of the ingredients I’ve used were bought in my local Lidl store! So here it is, my Coconut & Cacao Walnut Butter – the first of many nut and seed butters I want to try my hand at! I hope you love it as much as I do! Next on the list is pumpkin seed butter – YUM. Stay tuned for that!

Recipe

IngredientsΒ (See picture below for the key ones!)

  • 1 200g pack of walnuts
  • 3 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cacao powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Optional: 1 tbsp honey or maple syrup for extra sweetness!
  • Required: Nutribullet (or equivalent power blender) or Food Processor

walnut-butter-ingreds

Method

  1. The first step is up to you – you can make the nut butter using the raw walnuts, but if you want more of a roasted flavour, then toast the walnuts in the oven before blending, for about 10 minutes at 175 C (fan oven).
  2. Once that’s sorted, it couldn’t be easier! Add the walnuts, melted coconut oil, cacao and cinnamon (plus honey/maple syrup if adding!) to your blender cup.
  3. Screw on the cap, give the cup a bit of shake, then get blending! This is the most time-consuming part.
  4. Blending tips: I use a Nutribullet to make nut butters, and generally, I find blending in pulses for about 10 seconds at a time over 10 minutes works best for me! You will need to pause between pulses to scrape the nut butter off the sides of the blender cup. After about 10 minutes, I find that’s when the oils in the nuts start to release, and you get that creamy nut butter texture!
  5. Once you get to that point, you’re good to go! I have found that I get better at making nut and seed butters the more I do it – practice makes perfect!
  6. Storage: I Β refrigerated my nut butter for storage, and it kept for about a week.

walnut-butter-1

Enjoy guys! Any questions you have about this recipe just ask! As always, tag me in your photos if you try this one out – @theirishbalance on Instagram!

 

Ciara πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

