Immune-Boosting Cacao & Chia Overnight Oats

chia-oats-prep-2

Oats. Is there anything better to have for breakfast? Not in my book! I have oats for breakfast basically everyday – usually in the form of zoats, as I can prepare these the night before. I find oats make for a great post-workout feed, and are the best thing to fuel me through a busy work day! It’s the most filling breakfast I have, keeping me going all the way to lunch, which is key for me – a girl who is definitely prone to hanger!

So I recently stocked up on chia seeds, and I decided it was time to mix up my breakfast oats a little. I LOVE zoats, don’t get me wrong. But change is good, and it also meant I could use the opportunity to put together a new breakfast recipe for you guys – a win-win situtation! Chia seeds have been touted as a ‘superfood’ for a while now – they’re packed with fibre, protein, anti-oxidants, omega-3 fatty acids and important micronutrients like calcium, iron, magnesium and potassium. I love the texture they add to overnight oats – they soak up liquid like nobody’s business, giving the oats a creamier texture while adding bulk too!

Below you will find my personal favourite chia seed overnight oats recipe. I’ve called it ‘Immune-Boosting’ because I’ve included two of my favourite anti-inflammatory spices – turmeric and ginger. Turmeric is having a major moment of popularity on foodie/fitness social media right now, mostly because of the current ‘Turmeric Latte’ (also called ‘Golden Milk’) craze. Latte fads of 2017 aside, turmeric is definitely a spice you should include in your diet, whatever way you like. Turmeric contains curcumin, which is a yellow chemical produced by some plants. Curcumin has long been associated with a HUGE range of health benefits. It has a powerful anti-inflammatory effect in our bodies, as well as supporting joint and muscle health, cardiovascular function and cognitive function. Ginger has also been linked to similar positive effects on our health, especially promoting immunity and reducing body inflammation. I always add 1/4 teaspoon of both to my oats everyday, and I LOVE ginger green tea. And I have to admit, fad or no fad, I am very fond of having a big mug of ‘Golden Milk’.

Anyway! Onto the food! I hope you like this recipe – feel free to customise it as you please – add less or more of the spices, or mix up the toppings to include your own favourites!

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp cacao powder
  • 1/4 tsp each of ginger, turmeric & cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp whole chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp nut butter
  • 50g porridge oats (I use Flahavan’s Progress Oatlets)
  • 180ml milk of your choice
  • Handful of blueberries or raspberries

chia-oats-prep

Method

  1. This is reaaaally simple – place your dry oats, chia seeds and spices into a mason jar or tupperware.
  2. Mix Β it all together with a spoon so the chia seeds and oats are coated in the spices.
  3. Add your milk and stir until the dry ingredients are fully soaked in the liquid. If you feel it’s still a little dry, add a dash more milk or water.
  4. Seal the jar or lunchbox and place in the fridge to chill and soak overnight.
  5. In the morning, add your toppings and tuck in! The toppings I’ve included above are fresh berries and nut butter (my favourites) – other great options are sliced banana coins, mixed nuts and/or chocolate chips if you’re feeling decadent!

Enjoy guys, this is a super simple speedy breakfast – perfect for busy mornings during the week! Tag me on Instagram if you try it out – @theirishbalance is my Insta-handle!

Ciara πŸ™‚ x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Immune-Boosting Cacao & Chia Overnight Oats

    • Thanks so much Vicky, so glad you like this recipe! It’s taken me so long to get back into using chia seeds so no better way than via Overnight Chia Oats! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

