Sweet Potato Chia & Oat Loaf

sp bread loaf

Ahhh, bread. Bread to me means toast. With nut butter on top. Or avocado. Are you drooling yet? You should be. I’m a self-confessed ‘zoats for breakfast’ addict, but every now and then I like to mix it up a little, and I LOVE having a breakfast bread to toast up and cover in nut butter, or use to do a savoury avocado and eggs combination. I also find it SO handy to have a bread in the freezer for those weekday evenings when I want a carb serving with my dinner, and I’m feeling lazy – Toast Tuesday anyone?

My favourite breads are varieties like spelt, rye, buckwheat and pumpernickel. I always go for wholegrain or wholemeal breads, as they’re packed full of healthy slow-release carbohydrates and fibre, and fuel me up perfectly. But something I definitely don’t get to do enough is MAKE my own breads, and I’m really keen to start doing that more, and to share my recipe creations with you guys on this blog.

I am a major sweet potato addict, so a bread that combines oats AND sweet potato is just total perfection to me.Plus chia seeds for extra fibre, AND raw cacao powder for an antioxidant kick – yes please! So let’s get to the recipe!

(And mini-disclaimer: I’m not sponsored by any of the brands I mention below. They’re my personal favourites to use, and I figure listing them might make it easier for you to source them if you’re ingredient-shopping!)

sp bread 2

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (Not essential, but I’m experimenting with it in cooking, and loved it in this recipe!)
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder (I use Nua Naturals)
  • 1 tbsp whole chia seeds (I use Chia Bia Seeds)
  • 2 tbsp Care Free Foods Sugar Free Caramel Syrup (you could sub honey or maple syrup here!)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (I use Alpro)
  • 1 large sweet potato (approximately 400g weight)
  • 200g oats (I use Flahavans Progress Oatlets)

Method

  1. Cook your sweet potato by roasting in the oven for approximately 30 minutes at 200C fan oven. Alternatively, you can cook by steaming, but I never do that, so I’ll leave this decision to yourselves guys! Either way, before or after you cook it, peel off the skin and set aside to cool.
  2. Pre-heat the oven to 190C (fan oven).
  3. Measure out the oats, and ground into oat flour using a blender or food processor.
  4. Take a large bowl, and add the oat flour to it.
  5. Next, add each of your dry ingredients to the oat flour – cinnamon, baking powder, cacao powder, and chia seeds.
  6. Take a smaller bowl, and add the sweet potato to it. Mash using a fork, OR blend in your food processor to give a puree texture.
  7. Now add each of the wet ingredients to the sweet potato – almond milk, coconut oil, apple cider vinegar and syrup/honey/maple. Mix until well combined.
  8. Now to make your dough! Add the wet ingredients to the bowl of dry ingredients, and get mixing! This does require a bit of an arm workout, so be ready!
  9. When you’ve got to a dough texture, you’re ready to bake! Bear in mind its absolutely fine to add a little more almond milk if your dough is a bit dry when you mix everything together.
  10. Line a baking tin with grease-proof paper, and add your dough to it. Smooth it down using the back of a spoon so that the height of the loaf is even and the surface is smooth too.
  11. Bake in the oven for approximately 45 minutes. Check at 45 minutes and insert a toothpick into the bread – if it comes out almost completely clean, you’re good to go!
  12. Leave to cool for about 2-3 hours before cutting – this is ESSENTIAL. I left mine overnight actually, and it sliced up perfectly the next day! Don’t skip this step – however tempted you are!

sp bread loaf 2

 

Enjoy guys! I am such a toast fan, and I love making my own bread – I don’t get to do it enough! Tag me if you try this recipe out – @theirishbalance on Instagram!

Ciara 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

