Cacao & Tahini Pea Protein Bars

pea protein abrs 1

Toffee. Tahini. Protein Bars. This can ONLY be an epic combination right? I knew I had you at the title! Today I’m sharing a new protein bar recipe, and this time the protein powder of choice is Pea Protein! Recently I was lucky enough to be sent a sample of the Pea Protein blend by the company Nature’s Plus, and I couldn’t wait to get started on some recipe testing with it! I’ve been really enjoying trying out different protein powders this year – and by that I mean different brands AND different types of protein (both animal and plant-based). It really gives me such a boost to have homemade protein bar recipes that I can rely on to fuel me through busy days, and more importantly, I understand what each ingredient is too! That’s why I love to share these recipes with you guys – I hope they bring you the same benefits!

So, a couple of notes on the ingredients list before you dive in – because I like my recipes to seem accessible to as many of you as possible! Β First of all, I have used an unflavoured Pea Protein blend because that’s the sample I happily received, so feel free to use whatever flavour you have. Realistically I would say you could sub rice protein for the pea blend, but you may have a slightly different texture – if you do, don’t worry, just adjust with a little more or less liquid as you need! Second of all, if you don’t have the toffee drops don’t worry – you could use vanilla extract, or a little honey or maple syrup instead for sweetness. Whatever takes your fancy. And third, if you don’t have tahini – GET SOME. Okay, I’m kidding. Sort of. But you can absolutely sub nut butter for the tahini if you want to. (But I do also feel everyone should have experience the deliciousness of tahini at some point…anyone who is a fan will agree!). And for anyone who isn’t aware, tahini is basically a spread made up of blended sesame seeds. It is absolutely perfect to use for the same things you use nut butter for (such as putting into your oats, on toast, pancakes, or just eating straight from the jar) – and it makes a great salad dressing too!

pea protein bars 3

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp My Protein Toffee Flavdrops (or alternative sweetener as mentioned above)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 120g Pea Protein Powder (I use Nature’s Plus) (Approximately 6 scoops)
  • 1 cup coconut or nut milk (I use Alpro Coconut Almond Milk)

Method

  1. Pre-heat a fan oven to 160C, and line a baking tin (I use 8×8 inch approximately) with grease-proof paper.
  2. Place your dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl and stir until combined.
  3. Create a small well in the centre of the dry ingredients, and add the wet ingredients in turn – coconut oil, toffee drops/sweetener of choice, tahini and milk.
  4. Get stirring – this doesn’t require much elbow grease to mix everything up, but you want to make sure all of the dry mix soaks up the liquid. You may need to add a little extra milk or just water if the batter is still a bit dry at this stage. What you’re aiming for is a sort of paste-like texture that doesn’t stick to a spoon, but spreads easily enough in your baking tin.
  5. Once you’re happy with the batter, scoop it into your lined baking tin. Spread it out evenly and smooth it down using the back of the spoon. You want the batter to be flat within the tin, with pretty even depth all over.
  6. Bake in the oven for approximately 35 minutes. Check at 35 minutes and if a toothpick comes out 99% clean, you’re good to go!
  7. Leave the bars to cool in the baking tin for a couple of hours before slicing – this is KEY, as it allows the bars to harden up.
  8. Store in a tupper-ware for up to a week or freeze in zip-loc bags!

pea protein bars 4

Another absolute winner recipe for plant-based protein snacking guys, I am so happy with these! Thanks again to the lovely people at Nature’s Plus for sending me some of their Pea Protein to try. Plenty more recipes to come! Don’t forget to tag me if you try these bars out guys – @theirishbalance on Instagram!

 

Ciara πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

