CAKE for Breakfast IS Possible – Ciara & Steph’s Baked Protein Oats

baked zoats3

What would you say…if I told you you could have CAKE for BREAKFAST – and it would be a HEALTHY cake at that? You’d probably hug me. I wouldn’t blame you. And I’m not joking either. I am especially excited to share this recipe with you, because it is my first collaboration blog post! A couple of months back, I started following fellow Instagrammer Super Health Steph (her fabulous blog is superhealthystephΒ – you NEED it in your life, trust me).

Pretty quickly, Steph and I realised we shared veeery similar foodie tastes, and we started trying out each other’s recipes. Which is one of my favourite things about Instagram! So, we recently decided to team up to deliver a delicious double-whammy for you guys – TWO gorgeous versions of Baked Oats.

So, below, I have given you two sets of ingredients, but the same method overall. We all know I’m obsessed with courgettes, so I am sharing my Baked Protein Zoats Loaf with you, flavoured with cacao and the protein powder of your choice, and topped with pumpkin seeds! In contrast, Steph’s recipe flavours the Baked Oats with apple and cinnamon, for a sweeter twist – YUM! And either way guys, topping the oats with nut butter is ESSENTIAL. But you knew that already!

This has fast become my favourite way to prepare breakfasts ahead of time – you can double or even triple the recipe below to bake ahead for your week of busy mornings. I usually bake these protein zoats for two mornings at a time – just remember you will double the cooking time if you do this!

baked zoats

Pictured: Baked Protein Zoats with banana coins & nut butter on the side

Recipe (Makes 1 serving – I usually double it up for meal prep!)

Ingredients

Option 1: Ciara’s Baked Protein Zoats Loaf (See Picture Above!)

  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cacao powder
  • 1 small handful of chopped berries
  • 1 tsp whole chia seeds
  • 150mls milk of choice
  • 1/3 courgette, grated
  • 40-50g oats (I use Flahavan’s Progress Oatlets)
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 scoop of protein powder of choice (I recommend flavours like Chocolate, Vanilla or Caramel/Maple but genuinely any flavour would be delicious)
  • Optional Topping: 25g of pumpkin or sunflower seeds

Option 2: Steph’s Sweet Apple & Cinnamon Oats (See Picture Below!)

  • 35g Porridge Oats
  • 1/2 Banana, mashed
  • 20g pea protein powder (optional)
  • 1 small red Apple, finely diced
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 180ml Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 tsp Maple Syrup

Screenshot_20170404-122311 (2)

MethodΒ 

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200C fan oven.
  2. Line a small ramekin dish (or whatever you usually use!) with greaseproof paper or cooking spray. If using greaseproof paper, rub the insides of the paper with a little melted coconut oil to stop the zoats sticking to the sides while baking.
  3. Get a large mixing bowl, add your ingredients to it, and mix until fully combined. Yes, it’s that simple! Add a little extra liquid if it seems a bit dry.
  4. If adding seeds on top, sprinkle the seeds over the zoats mixture.
  5. Pour the zoats mixture into the baking dish, and bake in the oven for approximately 20 minutes (double this time if you’ve made a double batch!). Take the baked zoats out of the oven at that time, and insert a toothpick or fork into the centre of the oats – if it comes out 99% clean you’re good to go!
  6. Leave to cool for about 10 minutes, then remove (carefully!) from the baking dish. The berries you have added should melt into the oat/courgette mixture – YUM!
  7. I recommend topping this with a tablespoon of nut butter before tucking in – you know you want to!

baked zoats4

Enjoy guys! I am OBSESSED with this recipe – breakfast cake is ALWAYS a good idea in my opinion! Tag me if you try it out – @theirishbalance on Instagram or Twitter!

 

Ciara πŸ™‚ x

One thought on “CAKE for Breakfast IS Possible – Ciara & Steph’s Baked Protein Oats

  1. Pingback: Guest Post Special: Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes | The Irish balance

Leave a Reply

