Ciara’s Smoky Baba Ganoush

BG 4

Baba Ganoush is a dish I discovered on my first visit to a falafel spot called Umi Falafel in Dublin 2 years ago. Umi is my favourite falafel place in the city – definitely make time to go if you’re ever visiting! The gorgeous smoky flavour of baba ganoush is something I never get tired of – in fact, I feel like I could literally take down the whole thing on my own! And as I’m a massive fan of hummus, I was really keen to get a recipe for this nailed so that I could enjoy it at home as well as when eating out. And so I could share it with you guys of course!

If you’re not sure what Baba Ganoush is, basically its a dish made of smoky aubergines, tahini and olive oil traditionally, originating from the Middle East. It is eaten usually as an accompaniment to a dish, or as a dip! Aubergines are also known as eggplant by the way, in case you’ve heard of them by that name! If you’ve ever tried it while eating out and wondering how to make it for yourself, or if you’ve never had it before, I’ve got you covered! I really hope you like this recipe guys, I’m really proud of my progress in making homemade dips/sauce/dressings/nut butters this year, and this is another success for the list!

BG 2

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized aubergine
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tbsp Tahini
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp Mild Chili Powder
  • A sprinkle of sea salt and black pepper
  • Required: Nutribullet/Blender or Food Processor

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C (fan). Slice the aubergine in half, and criss-cross the flesh in each half.
  2. Brush a little melted coconut oil on top of the aubergine flesh, and sprinkle over some sea salt and black pepper.
  3. Line a baking tray with tin-foil and roast the aubergines for approximately 30 minutes. When they’re done, a fork should easily pierce into soft flesh.
  4. Leave the aubergines to cool, and start adding your other ingredients to your blender cup – coconut oil, tahini, spices, garlic and lemon juice.
  5. Scoop the aubergine flesh away from the skin. If it’s cooked through it should peel away pretty easily!
  6. Add the aubergine flesh to the blender cup. Screw the lid on, give the cup a shake, and blend!
  7. My blending time for this is usually 5 minutes or so! Once done, scoop our your baba ganoush, and tuck in! This is gorgeous with so many dishes, and obviously as a dip for veggies or pitta bread too!

BG 3

Enjoy guys! Tag me if you try this recipe out – @theirishbalance on Instagram!

Ciara 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

