Mocha Protein Bean Brownies

20170617_224130

YAAAAS boys and girls, after a seriously EPIC holiday, The Irish Balance is feeling rested, motivated, HEALTHY and SUPER EXCITED to smash out some fabulous blog content for you guys this summer. This content will be recipes, particularly of a vegetarian/vegan-friendly nature (or at least adaptable to both meat eaters and veggies alike), as well as posts about seriously important topics – the first of which will be about exercise addiction and my own journey with this. More on that over the next week or so!

Today I am sharing my latest protein snack creation – Mocha Protein Bean Brownies! After the success of my Chickpea Protein Bars I was super keen to try a recipe using kidney beans and black beans. These brownies are gooey, chocolate-y and have a cheeky hit of additional antioxidants from coffee and goji berries! I’ve also added walnut chunks to these for a gorgeous healthy fats boost. I hope you enjoy them as much as me – another total WIN for nailing my desired texture too, which I’ve always found tricky when testing recipes for baking with alternatives like beans!

Ready – Set – Baaaake!

Recipe 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tablespoons raw cacao powder
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup oats (I use Flahavan’s Oatlets)
  • 1/3 cup brewed/instant coffee
  • 1 400g tin of red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 scoop of Chocolate Protein Powder (I used That Protein Chirpy Choca Mocha Brown Rice Protein)
  • 1/3 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 small handful of goji berries
  • Optional: 1 tbsp sweetener of choice (e.g. honey, maple/agave, Stevia)

20170617_224040

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 175C (I use fan oven), and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper. I use tinfoil greased with a little melted coconut oil to stop the brownies sticking.
  2. Measure out the oats, and blend them into flour.
  3. Set the chopped walnuts and goji berries aside in a small bowl.
  4. Add remaining dry ingredients (cacao powder, baking powder, cinnamon, protein powder) and the wet (kidney beans, mashed banana, brewed coffee, melted coconut oil, and sweetener if using) to the blender cup or food processor.
  5. You may need to add a little extra liquid if blending is slow – what I do is make a full cup of coffee and add a bit extra if needs be!
  6. Transfer the mixture to a bowl, and stir through your walnuts and goji berries.
  7. Pour the brownie batter into your baking tin, and smooth the top over using the back of a spoon so it’s evenly distributed.
  8. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes – check at 30-40 minutes and if a toothpick comes out clean you’re good to go!
  9. Allow to cool for AT LEAST 15 minutes – I’ve learnt cooling time is KEY to getting a great finished texture guys so be patient, boil the kettle, make a cuppa tea or coffee and it’ll be ready for your cooled brownie! 🙂
  10. You can freeze these if you’re batch-making for work/college snacks too, or store in the fridge for about a week!

20170617_223917

Let me know if you give these a try guys, I’d love to see your creations! I love using chickpeas to make bars, and I’ve wanted to try a kidney or black bean based bar for a while now. Success! Tag me if you try the brownies out – @theirishbalance on Instagram or Twitter!

Ciara 🙂 x

 

Leave a Reply

